You are going to visit Nepal sometime soon. Perhaps for a trek, tour, mountain biking or just a short vacation. You may have a question – how to get a visa to Nepal? Well, it is easy.

Nepal Visa Information – How to obtain Nepal Visa?

Visitors can obtain Nepal Visa upon arrival at the Tribhuvan International Airport in Kathmandu and at the land border entry/exit points. It is also possible to obtain Nepal visa from Nepalese Diplomatic Missions stationed abroad prior to your arrival. Note that some countries are exception to this on-arrival-visa rule, please see the list at the end of this post.

You will need a valid passport (for the next 6 months), a passport-size photo (in light background) and visa fees in cash.

  • Multiple Entry 15 Days Visa: USD 30 (or equivalent foreign currency)
  • Multiple Entry 30 Days Visa: USD 50
  • Multiple Entry 90 Days Visa: USD 125

Currencies accepted as payment for Nepal Visas –

Euro, Swiss Franc, Pound Sterling, US Dollar, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar and Japanese Yen are accepted. Credit card, Indian currency and Nepali Rupees are not accepted as payment for the visa fees.

Free Visas –

  • Indian Nationals do not require visas to Nepal and there is no limit on their length of stay within Nepal. Indians traveling by air must carry their passport or ID issued by Election Commission as a proof of identity.
  • 30 days free visa for the first visit on calendar year (January to December) for nationals of Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • Chinese Nationals.

Nepal Visa Extensions – 

  • Tourists can stay up to maximum 150 days in Nepal. Nepal Tourist Visas can be extended from the Department of Immigration, Kathmandu and Pokhara.

Other Information –

  • If you have obtained visa from Nepalese Diplomatic Missions, then you must enter Nepal within six months from the visa issued date. Your total stay is counted starting from the day you enter into Nepal.

Exceptions to On arrival Visa – 

  • Passport holders of Afghanistan, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iraq, Liberia, Nigeria, Palestine, Somalia, Swaziland and Zimbabwe will need to obtain Nepal visas from Nepal Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their countries as on-arrival visa facility is currently not available to them.


Disclaimer – Information offered here is just for the purpose of convenience. This does not claim to be a legal immigration advice. Please visit the Nepal Immigration Website for latest Nepal Visa information updates. We take no responsibility for any inconvenience, loss or damage incurred to anyone by using this information. Updated: 10 May, 2019